Late's Brutal Mono


Late's Brutal Mono is a jazz septet founded in early 1990's by a group of jazz oriented musicians from Tampere Conservatoire: Sami Siikala (trumpet), Petri Nieminen (altosax, baritonesax), Jukka Hänninen (tenorsax), Jouni Joronen (piano), Lauri Hannu (guitar), Jaan Wessmann (bass), and Johan Willgrén (drums).

The aim of the band is to play new music without the burden of classical music but with some aspects of jazz tradition included. The music, written by Lauri Hannu, consists of free structures and shapes as well as strictly formatted material.

Late's Brutal Mono has been on hiatus since 1995 when they performed at the Tampere Jazz Happening. The show was recorded and subsequently (9/9/99) released on CD under the clever title “Late's Brutal Mono Live At The Tampere Jazz Happening”.

The digital re-issue is available at iTunes, CD Baby and Spotify among others.

Live at the Tampere Jazz Happening

  1. March I
  2. March II
  3. Tango Visions
  4. D.B. Good
  5. Mono Blues
  6. Surumarssi / Sorrow March
  7. 12 Tone Funk
  8. Nakkisopulitechno / Sausagelemmingtechno
  9. The Real Elephant Boogie
  10. X.P.S.U.Q.D.
  • All songs composed and arranged by Lauri Hannu
  • Produced by Lauri Hannu
  • Recorded live on November 3rd 1995 at Tampere Jazz Happening by Petri Silas (2 track digital)
  • Live mixing: Pepe Lempinen
  • Mastered at Finnvox by Pauli Saastamoinen.
  • Graphics: Lauri Hannu
  • Cover design: Tomi Riionheimo
  • Picture capturing: Rave
  • Executive producer: Mikko Kekki
  • 1999 Antbus Records
  • Easy listening jazz for serious purposes while recapturing the spirit of the 20th century for the next millenium.